• THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT
  • Call us - 502-868-5300

    Lexington, Winchester, Georgetown, Paris, Versailles, Nicholasville, Richmond

  • In Kentucky, DWI and DUI are abbreviations that refer to driving under the influence of intoxicants that impair driving ability. Alcohol is by no means the only substance that can cause such impairment. Illegal drugs, also known as controlled substances, can do so as well.

    For a first DUI offense in Kentucky, the penalties include a fine of $200 to $500 and 2 to 30 days in jail. You will also face a 90-day treatment program for alcohol or substance abuse and lose your driver's license for 30 to 120 days.

    But there are also various aggravating factors that can result in a longer minimum amount of jail time.

    With the holidays coming up, that tends to mean more traffic — and more people driving under the influence as they make their way home from parties and other festivities.

    So if you’re on the roads in Kentucky, avoid getting a DUI by first of all making sure to have a designated driver if you’re going to have any wine at the company Halloween party, or beer while watching the big game on Sunday.

    Also make sure to wear your seatbelt to stay safe in the event of a crash either from inclement weather or impaired drivers on the road.

    If you are pulled over by any of the extra patrols out, call Kentucky Criminal Attorney John E. Cornett at (502) 868-5300 to talk about your ticket and possible options for your defense.